All three of the listed WA AFL field umpires were appointed to this weeks AFL finals series in an great coup for the state.  Dean Margetts comes back into the finals panel this year and will do his third final, Luke Farmer does back to back final series for his second final and Jeff Dalgleish is appointed to his first final.  Jeff has been on the panel since 2009 and has umpired 71 matches.  Add to that mix WA born Brett Rosebury who will umpire his 32nd final and the “sandgropers” are on a high.

The other finals field debutant is Tasmanian born Shane Stewart. Shane has been on the panel since 2008 and has umpired 106 matches.

On the boundary, Matthew Tomkins, in only his second year on the list gets his first final after 43 matches.  Nathan Doig (WA) comes back into the panel after missing last season due to work commitments.

Two of our “evergreen” boundaries, John Morris (256 games) who was first listed on the AFL panel in 1993 has been selected for his 15th final and Luke Roberts (119 games) who was first listed in 1988 is umpiring his 3rd final.

A number of milestones will also be reached this weekend.  Mathew Nicholls umpires his 200th game, Adam Wojcik and Michael Saunders will notch up their 100th game.

Related Posts