AFLUA Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

The AFLUA Hall of Fame was created to provide the means by which the Association could recognise and celebrate the outstanding contributions that members have made to the Association and to umpiring Australian Rules football.

The AFLUA Hall of Fame was officially launched in May 2008 when 99 inaugural inductees were admitted. A ballot was held in both 2010 and 2015, during which five inductees were elevated to the AFLUA Hall of Fame Legends in 2010 and two more in 2015.

The thirteenth ballot was held in 2023 resulting in the election of 13 new members, and elevation of one member to Legend Status.

AFLUA Hall of Fame Legends

The following AFLUA Hall of Fame members were elevated to AFLUA Hall of Fame Legends:

Bill Deller OAM (2015)

Percy Devine (2010)

David Howlett (2015)

John Lancaster (2010)

Pat McGough (2010)

Graeme Patterson OAM (2010)

Mark Turner (2010)

David Flegg AM (2023)

Selection to the AFLUA Hall of Fame was made through a series of ballots as follows:


Ballot 1 covering 1909-1920 – theoretically held in 1925

Henry (Ivo) Crapp

John Dougherty

Frederick Franks

Joseph Jones

John Lucas


Ballot 2 covering 1921-1930 – theoretically held in 1935

Sydney Campton

Percy Devine

Jack Elder

Ernest Jenkins

Walter Naismith

Arthur Norden


Ballot 3 covering 1931-1940 – theoretically held in 1945

Charles Bell

Bill Blackburn

John Drysdale

Jack McMurray Snr

Frederick Morgan

Robert Scott


Ballot 4 covering 1941-1950 – theoretically held in 1955

Norm Batty

John Currie

John Fitt

Eric Hawkins

Walter Johnston

Lindsay Lancaster

Thomas Nicholson

Reg Treloar

William Wetenhall

Les Whyte


Ballot 5 covering 1951-1960 – theoretically held in 1965

Roy Allen

Harry Beitzel

Harry Clayton

Norm Grant BEM

George Hamid

Harry Male

Jack McMurray Jnr

Allan Nash

Clyde White


Ballot 6 covering 1961-1970 – theoretically held in 1975

Jeff Crouch

Len Eddy

Harold Forsyth

Colin Fulton

Bill Graham

Jack Gray

Don Heywood

John Hicks

Len Ireland

Herb Kent

Jim Kilkenny

Jack Lee

Max McLeod

Jim Perry

Ted Pound

Dudley Ridley

Frank Spokes

Bill Terrill

Bill Yendle


Ballot 7 covering 1971-1980 – theoretically held in 1985

Ron Allinson

Jim Barwick

Brian Crockett

Des Fitzgerald

Doug Gilham

Pat McGough

Kevin Mitchell

John Moss

Graeme Patterson OAM

Keith Pawley

Reg Pawley

Les Robinson

Tom Rossiter

Dick Sankey

Stan Tomlins

Mark Turner

Ron Warwick

Darryl Williams


Ballot 8 covering 1981-1990 – theoretically held in 1995

Kevin Barker

Peter Bunworth

Bill Deller OAM

Bob Dunball

Bob Gilham

Brian Hood

Bernie Lowden

Terry O’Donnell

Leigh Paterson

Brian Pratt

Ian Robinson

Paul Serong

Kevin Smith

Geoff Willcox

Murray Williams


Ballot 9 covering 1991-2001 – theoretically held in 2006

Peter Cameron

Peter Carey

David Howlett

Leigh Keen

Peter McDonald

Chris Mitchell

David Mitchell

Denis Rich AFSM

John Russo

Rowan Sawers

Graeme Williams


Ballot 10 covering 2002-2005 was held in 2010

Bob Barker

Andrew Coates

Allan Cook

Gavin Dore

Doug Gourlay

Frank Hunting

Glenn James OAM

Ted Johnson

Clive Macaulay

Peter Matheson

Bryan Sheehan

Ray Sleeth

John Sutcliffe

Bill Sutton


Ballot 11 covering 2006-2010 was held in 2015

Brett Allen

Michael Bell

Ian Brown

Frank Gagliardi

Darren Goldspink

Colin Hood

Scott McLaren

Gordon Muir

Matthew Vitiritti


Ballot 12 (covering 2011 – 2015) was held in 2020

Ian Clayton

Jonathan Creasey

David Dixon

David Flegg AM

Daniel Gooch

Rob Haala

Shane Jansen

Hayden Kennedy

Steve McBurney

John Morris

Glenn Sinclair

Grant Vernon

Luke Walker

Stuart Wenn


Ballot 13 (covering 2016 – 2018) was held in 2023

The Hall of Fame criteria was adjusted in 2023 to recognise umpires who have made significant contributions to umpiring State League Football prior to the nationalisation of the AFL competition. The criteria was also revised to recognise exemplary service to AFL umpiring through coaching, mentoring, or other activities that contribute significantly to the development and support of umpires over a sustained period.

Rod Davies

Aaron Deckys

Scott Jeffery

Chris Kamolins

Shane McInerney

John Morgan

Neville Nash

Troy Pannell

Shaun Ryan

Justin Schmitt

Michael Vozzo

State League Inductees:

Ross Capes

Tom McArthur