Former AFL field umpire and current SANFL Umpires Manager, Shane Harris will head an all star cast of umpires who will take charge of the 2018 E J Whitten match to be played at the Adelaide Oval on Friday August 31.

Shane Harris

Shane has been the SANFL Umpires Manager since 1994.  He was made a SANFL Life Member in 2016 for his services to SANFL football and umpiring.  Shane umpired in the VFL between 1987 1992 officiating in 74 games.  Shane umpired the VFL Reserves Grand Final in 1988 and the London exhibition match in the same year.

Michael Avon

Michael umpired AFL football between 1997-2010.  He umpired 179 games including one final. Michael played football for West Adelaide before turning to umpiring.  Michael also played cricket for Adelaide Cricket Club and represented SA in under 17 and 19 National Championships.

Richard Williams

Richard umpired a record 459 SANFL games between 1987 and 2011.  He also umpired 56 AFL games between 1995 and 1999.  Richard officiated in 11 SANFL Grand Finals and 4 State games.  He won the Golden Whistle award as the best umpire in SA on 6 occasions.  He is currently the SANFL umpires assistant coach. He was inducted into the SANFL Hall of Fame in 2012.

Tim Pfeiffer

Tim officiated in 416 SANFL games between 1991 and 2009.  He umpired 44 AFL matches between 1994 and 1997. Tim umpired 10 SANFL Grand Finals and 5 interstate games.  Tim was the recipient of the Golden Whistle Award as the best umpire in the SANFL 5 times. Tim was inducted into the SANFL Hall of Fame in 2014.

Darren Wilson

Darren holds the current record of the most games umpired by a boundary umpire.  His tally of 405 AFL games included 48 finals and 12 grand finals. Darren now coaches boundary umpires in the AFLW competition and those in the National under 16 and 18 carnivals.

Jonathan Creasey

Jonathan umpired 307 AFL games including 29 finals 4 grand finals.  In a stellar career Jonathan was a leader of umpires not only in the SA panel but across Australia.  Jonathan retired at the end of 2016.

John Morris

John has decided to travel to SA to participate in his second EJ Whitten games. John umpired 325 games including 20 finals and retired at the end of the 2017 season.

Randall Gibson

Randall has remained in peak fitness since his retirement in 1999 after umpiring 76 AFL games.  Randall is the current AFL Queensland boundary umpires match day coach.  This is Randall’s second EJ Whitten game.

Goal Umpires

Steven Murphy umpired 74 AFL games between 1995 and 2005 whilst Leo Corrieri officiated in 154 AFL games and which included 8 finals.

Related Posts