mcmurray-scholarshipsEarly in 1987, the VFL Commission introduced two awards into umpiring.

Known as the Jack McMurray Scholarships the awards were presented in recognition of the legendary service given to VFL football by Jack McMurray Sr.

The awards were presented to the two best first year umpires on the Cadet Squad list. In 1987 and 1988 Jack McMurray Jr made the presentation to the recipients.

The scholarships were discontinued in 1992.

1987 Adrian Fiske David Harman
1988 Brett Allen Martin Carland
1989 Paul Cherry Adrian Panozzo
1990 Nicholas Hooper Mark Nash
1991 Andrew Giles Michael Sexton