The SANFL Golden Whistle Awards night last Friday saw three of the AFLUA’s AFLW members claim trophies.

Mitch Scott claimed the nights top prize, being named the SANFL Umpire of the year, winning the Golden Whistle.  Scott, who has umpired 141 SANFL games and 18 AFLW games, including seven this season, was duly rewarded for his outstanding work. 

SANFL head of umpiring Shane Harris noted that his “mature approach, continued commitment and dedication has ensured he’s performed at a consistently high level.”

24 game AFLW boundary umpire Brayden Theil was deemed best in his discipline, being awarded the Silver Whistle for best performed boundary umpire of the year. In the state league Theil has umpired 161 games, including five grand finals, since commencing in 2011.

Harris said that Theil “consistently displayed commitment and a good old-fashioned work ethic which has ensured he’s maintained a high level of professionalism and performance both on and off the track.” 

The AFLUA would like to congratulate both of these umpires on their outstanding achievements.

Mitch Scott and Brayden Theil umpiring the AFLW Round 07 match between the Crows and the Bulldogs at Norwood Oval (Photo by Sarah Reed/AFL Photos)

Article by Jackson Kerr

Quotes thanks to Zac Milbank

2023 Golden Whistle Awards