The AFLUA Hall of Fame was created to provide the means by which the Association could recognise and celebrate the outstanding contributions that members have made to the Association and to umpiring Australian Rules football.

The AFLUA Hall of Fame was officially launched in May 2008 when 99 inaugural inductees were admitted. A ballot was held in both 2010 and 2015, during which five inductees were elevated to the AFLUA Hall of Fame Legends in 2010 and two more in 2015.

In 2020, the AFLUA conducted the twelfth ballot for the AFLUA Hall of Fame considering the careers and contributions of those AFL umpires who had retired between 2011 and 2017.  It is now time to induct the following – Ian Clayton, Jonathan Creasey, David Dixon, David Flegg AM, Daniel Gooch, Rob Haala, Shane Jansen, Hayden Kennedy, Stephen McBurney, John Morris, Glenn Sinclair, Grant Vernon, Luke Walker and Stuart Wenn.

Each was selected for their outstanding service to the association and / or outstanding on-field achievement in umpiring.

The Australian Football League Umpires’ Association is hosting a gala event to celebrate the induction of these new inductees on Monday 16th August 2021.  If you are interested in organising a table or attending, please contact the AFLUA at

Please note the AFLUA Hall of Fame function has been postponed due to Covid lockdowns and restrictions. Stay tuned for further information

More information on the Inductees can be found by clicking


Related Posts