The AFLUA hosted the Melbourne-based Goal Umpires’ squad dinner at the George Hotel in South Melbourne on Tuesday, 18th July.

The night was a mixture of speeches, catching up with colleagues and coaches in a relaxed environment, and some fun games, including golf putting nearest the white line and an online game called ‘Guess Who?’.

AFLUA awards were presented to the following recipients:

  • Chelsea Roffey presented framed grand final photos to last year’s grand final umpires – Matt Dervan and Sam Walsh.
  • Leigh Keen presented the winner of last year’s Leigh Keen Shield to Michael Craig.

Luke Edwards was presented with his AFLUA Life Membership by Steven Piperno.

A number of umpires were recognised for milestones achieved this season so far. They included – Steve Williams (250); Michael Craig (150); Steven Piperno (150); Matt Dervan (150); Dylan Benwell (100); Sam Walsh (100).

Well done to the organisers Adam Wojcik, Michael Craig and Simon Plumridge (who officiated his 50th AFL game at the Gabba – Brisbane v Geelong – on Saturday afternoon [22 July 2023]).

Related Posts