Since 1994 AFL field umpires have been allocated shirt numbers in much the same way and for much the same reason as players. Below are the numbers issued to AFL Field Umpires in 2022.

A list of match totals by the wearers of each number is available here.

A history of shirt numbers is available here.

2022 NumberUmpire's name
1Chris Donlon
2Nick Foot
3Leigh Fisher
4Justin Power
5Leigh Haussen
6Daniel Johanson
7Jeff Dalgleish
8Brett Rosebury
9Matt Stevic
10Rob O'Gorman
11Curtis Deboy
12Andrew Stephens
13Nick Brown
14Hayden Gavine
15Mathew Nicholls
16Brendan Hosking
17John Howorth
18Ray Chamberlain
19Alex Whetton
20Jamie Broadbent
21Simon Meredith
22Nathan Williamson
23Rob Findlay
24David Harris
25Nathan Toner
26Craig Fleer
27Andre Gianfagna
28Cameron Dore
29Andrew Heffernan
30Michael Pell
31Paul Rebeschini
32Jacob Mollison
33Brent Wallace
34Eleni Glouftsis
35Andrew Adair
36Leighton Rowe
37Matt Baigent
39 Jordan Fry
40Louis Jago
41James Strybos
42Nic McGinness
43Martin Rodger
44Giles Lewis
45Luke Porter
46Tom Bryce
47Peter Bailes
48Nick Jankovskis
49Michael Pell
50Courtney Gibson
51Gabby Simmonds
52Dean Garroway
53Chris Melin